A different kind of Adobo

It was past 11AM already when I started thinking of what we could have for lunch.  With a heavy drizzle falling outside and after having spent a late night out yesterday which saw us home at 2AM, we weren’t in any shape to go out early in the day.  I knew I had short ribs and I thought “Sinigang”, but Mom told me I’m starting a little too late so it might not be tender enough for us to enjoy it fully.  We boiled the beef anyway and agreed to have it for dinner instead.  I rummaged through the freezer and found a whole cut up chicken and decided we were going to have Chicken Adobo

I usually don’t post recipes here but this is one recipe I highly recommend because the measurement of the marinade did not throw me off.  It has been disappointing to follow a recipe to a T and then realize that it’s too sour or too salty from the soy sauce or salt.  It’s also easy to pull off and gives a hint of sweetness.  Taken from THE TWENTY MINUTE COOKBOOK by Carlos and Celeste Lorenzana, you’ll love this, I guarantee.  I only did chicken, no pork, but it was so tasty, I cannot imagine how much more delicious it would’ve been with some pork.

Bon Appetit!

Chicken Pork Adobo

6 cloves garlic, crushed
1/4 c vinegar
1/4 c soy sauce
1/4 tsp salt
6 tbsp Worcestershire sauce
1 tbsp brown sugar
1/3 tsp black peppercorn, crushed
1 c water
1/4 kg chicken cut into serving pcs
1/3 kg port cut into cubes

Mix thoroughly the garlic, vinegar, soy sauce, salt, Worcestershire sauce, sugar, peppercorn and water.  Marinate the chicken and pork in the mixture for about an hour.  Bring to a boil and then simmer until chicken and pork are tender.

top blogs

0 thoughts on “A different kind of Adobo

  1. I wish that I have seen this post earlier in the day and prepare the same dish from your recipe. You have listed ingredients that are easy to find.

    My frustration with cooking is not finding the right ingredient listed in the recipe and using a substitute. In my mind, I’m thinking that I’ve settled for second best and wonder how the food would have tasted if I had everything that was suggested.

    Thanks for sharing, tomorrow I’ll have Adobo for lunch.

    Like

  2. hey dinna, this post really made me crave for adobo. just wanna update you, i just got hold of the postcards you sent from paris to Singapore. Im currently here in MD now and have a hell of a time.

    Ill update you more on my next posts.

    Happy New year to you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

