Busy with Flickr

This is already my nth attempt at writing a post about this, beginning with one I started at 4am this morning. (Angelo woke up at 3:30am and dragged me to the living room, refusing to let me doze off as he started early with Noggin.)  I’ve been trying to grab some sleep in between taking care of Angelo, trying to keep his temperature down.  He’s back to normal but I’m not holding my breath.  It seems the fever has broken.  We’ve decided he’s staying home tomorrow.

In the meantime, I’ve been trying to maximize my Pro Flickr account.  I’ve spent most of the last few nights uploading my most recent pictures and slowly catching up with archiving the older ones.  (Right now I’m uploading the pictures from my first trip to Paris in 2005).  I’m also trying to figure out how to best use the pictures, and have discovered that beyond keeping some photos or sets and collections private, I can actually send a guest pass to selected friends who will be given limited access to the photos until I “expire” the pass.  That’s definitely convenient because even those with no Flickr account can go in and view the pictures without having to have a Flickr account themselves.

I have had one quite a while and had migrated my Yahoo photos to various Flickr accounts for lack of the time to actually consolidate them, but I didn’t sign up for a Pro account until just a few months ago.  Might as well take advantage of the annual fee and upload as much as I can.  I shudder to think what a hard drive crash would do to the unsaved and unburned pictures I will lose.  (Note to self: Start burning back ups).

I’ve also discovered that no matter what the size of the picture, you are given the option to download it in different sizes that makes it easier to include the picture size of your choice in other applications like this blog.  (And to think I had been killing myself working with the simplest of softwares, Microsoft Photo Editor, in accomplishing this.)  Back to Flickr..

