Feedback Incognito: Did you say macarrons?

I have a rule here on my corner of the blogsphere that I will not publish comments that do not have a working e-mail nor a URL for me to track back to but there will always be exceptions to the rule and this will have to be one of them.  Well, first of all, it wasn’t posted as a comment.  I received a message from a member of this blog.com community although it appears now she created the profile to be able to send that message. 

“I never do this, but I had to write. So here I am, a Filipina-American female lawyer living in Chicago – but who use to live and practice in NYC – and googling late at night, when I came across your blog. And what was I googling? Not filipinas living in New York or anything that would reasonably lead me to your blog. No, I was trying to figure out – of all things – how the heck to get lavendar macaroons airmailed to me from some patisserie just outside of Giverny and whose name completely escapes me (this led me to Laduree macaroons, and then your blog). In any case, the coincidence was just too ridiculous – that I would be a filipino francophile attorney, missing my family so many miles away, living in a big city, and run into your blog. Thank you for that. Thank you for being a complete stranger but for having a blog that made me – a complete stranger to you – feel suddenly at home, surrounded by friends and even family (your mom sounds like my mom). And thank you for making me feel like I have a kindred spirit. Maybe the world is not so very large after all.”

To which the Pinay New Yorker says: This is one of the unexpected rewards of blogging — knowing that someone actually felt good because of something I wrote.  Thanks for taking the time to let me know. 

As for your macarron fix, I’d go to Payard Bistro (link will open to the specific page for their boxed macarrons) and order a box for shipping.  They don’t have quite as many flavors but the texture and flavor is close to Laduree’s which, to me, is still the best.  (They actually claim to have invented it.)  In the Philippines, Bizu is trying to give Manila a taste of it, and I snapped up some mango and pandan flavored ones — the taste is there but the texture is slightly different because they refrigerate it.  I guess the humidity and heat will not help the macarron to hold its flavor, but it’s a good attempt at it.  I wish Bouchon Bakery would ship but they don’t have an online store.  I tried their macarrons in their Time Warner Center branch over at Columbus Circle just this fall and it took me back to Paris.

I can totally relate to the feeling — pining, wishing for and remembering the taste and the presence of macarrons, food, and most important of all, family.

Again, thanks for visiting.

0 thoughts on “Feedback Incognito: Did you say macarrons?

  1. hi dinna! ang ganda naman ng entry na to. hehe. had goosebumps while i was reading the comment/message. makes you think that the world can seem really small at times… 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

