Feedback : I hear you…

One of the rewards of blogging and having an active comment feature is the conversations that go on with the people who stray into my corner of the blogsphere.  There are actually more comments than posted because I am trying to adhere to my rule that comments without a working e-mail nor a website to track back to will not be published.  (So please, please leave at least an e-mail address.  I do not publish the e-mail address — I just want to make sure it’s a “legitimate” comment.)

Sometime last week, Carmela dropped by and wrote a comment on my blogpost Be not afraid to pursue your dream to be a legal eagle someday(Jan.4, 2007):

Hi.  I have been wanting to leave you a personal message, but I couldn’t find a link or your personal email where i can tell you my thoughts, rants about law school.

So I stumbled upon this blog when I searched ‘ateneo law school’ in google. and like what you have said in your previous blog entries, that “when I was in law school” post seemed to have been your most popular entry to date? or am I just inventing here? so basically, I am currently a junior taking up management economics in ateneo now and i come from a family of lawyers. and I dont know if it’s too early for me to fantasize about law school (since I havent even taken the entrance test yet in ateneo) but I cant help thinking about it for the past months.

When I was in grade school, being a lawyer was my ultimate dream (along with becoming a cashier, doctor, teacher ehhe) but I remember dreaming about becoming a lawyer talaga. i stoppedthinking about it when I was in highschool and considered other options such as having an MBA or something after college. the constant teasing and pananakot that I got from my dad and family members of me becoming an old maid if and when I become a lawyer (because i have such strong personality) didn’t encourage me either.

Anways, to make the long story short.. I know I want to become a lawyer not only because I want to follow the footsteps of my father but I like rationalizing and thinking about things. sure, I want to become a laywer but I dont know if I want it badly to endure the rigors that I am bound to face when I step in the halls of the ateneo law school. Basically, I want it but I dont know if I want it bad enough. and I know I”m a stranger to you, but wala lang. I hope you could find time to reply to me πŸ™‚

p.s it’s ateneo or nothing to me though. πŸ™‚

To which the Pinay New Yorker says: Carmela, just be patient with me.  This is a topic I’ve written about quite a few times and yes, it’s one of the most popular topics in this corner of the blogsphere.  (Not that I get millions and millions of hits.. =)  I will get my answer to you next week.  I’m trying something new by interviewing some friends of mine who can share with you their thoughts and experiences about this.  It should provide a fresh and more varied insight and hopefully help you thresh out your own feelings about the whole matter of becoming a legal eagle someday.  Thanks for stopping by.

And just today, I got this comment from Charm below:

I have been reading your blog for quite a while already, Nice posts here. I am planning to visit New York in summer and your blog gives me an idea on which places to go.  Thanks.

And the Pinay New Yorker says:  Thanks for stopping by, Charm.  One of the posts I owe one of my once regular blogfriend WengN is a post on the best time to visit and where to go.  I hope to get on with that before Spring is over.  And you can always go through my posts under the category ”New York Style” to get some ideas from the perpetual tourist that I am.

While it’s flattering to know that people are actually reading my rambling here, it is heartwarming to see that I am able to connect and make sense to some people out there.  I have to admit that there are times when I feel bad that the people closest to me don’t read what I write here, but hey, I figure it’s because they get a dose of me upclose.

It also continues to inspire me to write which is my main form of self-expression.  I wish I had more time to devote to it but life has a way of taking over.  Not that I mind.  After all, without all these things keeping me busy, I wouldn’t have anything to write about. 

 

3 thoughts on “Feedback : I hear you…

  1. Anonymous

    This is from the BS PSYCHOLOGY thesis group from Ateneo de Manila University. We disseminated the online survey through questionspro.com about blogging and we received your response. We would like to extend our deepest gratitude to you for participating further in the blogging studies we are currently doing. We truly appreciate your cooperation and your support for making our thesis possible.

    Like

  2. Hey D! πŸ™‚ It’s your once regular blogfriend! πŸ˜‰ It looks like it’s almost spring in NY and we’re finally getting a bit of a better weather up here in Western Canada… i still visit (your blog) when I can – and yes, am looking forward to your post on the best time to go to NY! πŸ˜‰ take care!

    Like

Leave a Reply

