Summer in full bloom

It was the eve of the Fourth of July weekend and I exercised my option to work from home. I’ve been fortunate enough to work for a boss who releases us early before a long weekend or a major holiday, so I was able to log off by noon.I told Angelo we were going to McDonald’s to have lunch. Meanwhile, I grabbed my camera and decided to take another way to the corner McDonald’s.

So we went on our way and stopped between flower bushes and took pictures. From the bright oranges of the lilies,to the pastel colored hydrangeas, summer was abloom were everywhere in various shades and colors. And we found some coneflowersand a roseor two, too. More than the visual delight of actually discovering these flowers tucked in some hidden corner here and there in our neighborhood, I cherished the walk with Angelo. It was quality time spent indeed.

He gamely posed for pictures by the flower bushes in our courtyard which was most welcome more so at this time when he gets picky about having his photo taken. We literally went around to stop and smell the flowers. He also took a shot or two which continues to show a discerning eye for framing a picture to be captured in a photograph. (Of course that’s the biased mom talking…) I have learned not to procrastinate when it comes to enjoying these flowers in bloom because they aren’t around all season.

It is remarkable how nature’s colors can be fleeting — making it all the more imperative that we enjoy the moment when we can. I remember one spring when I marvelled at the colors of the blooms on the tree in front of our place.. I was always in a hurry that week and promised myself I would take a picture by the weekend. By the weekend, the colors had waned and were fading. Too late.

Thus my Fourth of July weekend started. Basking in simple joys with the greatest joy of my life by my side.

(Originally written on July 8, 2009)

0 thoughts on “Summer in full bloom

Leave a Reply

