Strictly for personal use

Colored Wooden Bead bracelet with antiqued copper tone chain links and heart locket
Colored Wooden Bead bracelet with antiqued copper tone chain links and heart locket

I’ve been experimenting a lot on beadwork and jewelry making — and I’ve enjoyed wearing them the past couple of days.  No, they aren’t for sale.  I haven’t quite mustered the confidence to sell them.  I’ve given away a piece or two — but always with the caveat that if anything breaks, I will repair them.

Here’s a favorite bracelet I had put together some weeks back.  I’ve had the beads for 3 years or so now, but I got the chain during my last trip to Manila.  (How can you beat the price of P60.00 pr approximately $1.20  for 5 yards of this chain?)  I didn’t have the luxury to shop then so I took only this and another, keeping in mind the beads I already had stashed away.   When I bought the beads in Wellmanson’s in Divisoria in 2006, they cost P20.00 for 20 grams, and there were approximately 20 beads.  I am not sure if they are still selling for the same price but I saw them on the shelves when I visited this May.   The lobster clasp and the heart locket with its own lobster clasp, I bought from a bead store here on Avenue of the Americas (a.k.a. Sixth Avenue).

Braided suede bracelet extender with toggle clasp
Braided suede bracelet extender with toggle clasp

I created a bracelet extender (which is what I call it only for want of a better term really) which is made of braided suede straps, slightly longer than the regular 7.5″-8″ inch bracelet length, to enable me to loop it around whatever bracelet I am hoping to extend.  When worn by itself, I knot the middle and attach a charm to weigh the braided strap down. 

Combining  the two bracelets make for an interesting combination of texture and color.  Because of the lightweight material, a charm is a good means to give the bracelet an anchor so that it falls nicely on the wrist.  A favorite pendant attached to a bail will also do.   

Combined Wooden Bead bracelet with heart locket and braided suede bracelet extender looped on one end and attached with its toggle clasp around the other end
Combined Wooden Bead bracelet with heart locket and braided suede bracelet extender looped on one end and attached with its toggle clasp around the other end
Leave a Reply

