Missing my little guy

Written yesterday, Monday, 12October2009 – Columbus Day:

I’ve been home for the last 5 hours alone — I had come rushing from the neighborhood McDonald’s with his favorite McNuggets in tow and I was panicked to find the house empty.  Silly me, I know I should have looked for a note from my mother-in-law, and there it was on top of the TV.   “Angelo is with me.  I have an appointment with my foot doctor.”

So I frantically dialed Alan and asked him if he knew of Mom’s appointment (which he apparently did), because I would not have gone to the city to do errands had I known!  Or I would’ve stuck to my original plan to take the tyke with me to catch glimpses of the Columbus Day Parade down Fifth Avenue, or to take a quick peek into one of our favorite museums in Manhattan.

I waited.. and waited.  Alas, my stomach only held out until 3:30pm, and I had to have my lunch.  I’m still waiting and he isn’t home yet.  I’m guessing his other grandma decided to bring him and his Lola to their house which is not that far from where we are.  The scent of the McNuggets doesn’t help.  I already put his favorite plain sundae in the freezer because it was beginning to melt on me. 

I wish he would come bounding up the stairs any minute now — I had purposely stayed home (at least meant to) to be able to keep him company since they had no school today.  I guess I am no longer used to a silent house.  For five years, there was always something happening or the TV was always humming whether I was busy puttering around in the kitchen or just doing “my stuff” on the sofa or some other corner of  our little nest.

He’ll be home soon enough.

0 thoughts on “Missing my little guy

  1. I feel the same way, even when my children are just upstairs napping. The silence can be deafening especially when you are used to your children’s laughters. Just being with them really makes my day, no matter what we are doing. I know you feel the same way too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

