A timely long weekend

I’m in New Jersey at a friend’s house tonight, catching up over wine and cheese.  I slipped away and grabbed my laptop trying to keep myself awake.  It wasn’t the company — just plain old jetlag.

It’s the second day of a long weekend.  Perfect timing indeed given my continuing struggle with jetlag.  I woke up at 5am this morning for the first time.  I would normally wake up between midnight and 2pm, as if I were just taking a siesta break back in Manila.  Once I’m up, I’m up.  Trying to get back to sleep is practically impossible.

So I’ve been trying to get my things stored away so that I can start doing my projects again.  I almost got tempted to grab my pliers today.  I have been skimming through my old magazines, tearing off the pages with recipes, finding word art to save, and preparing to discard the old magazines in my coat closet finally. I don’t know why but I have found it hard to get rid of my first sets of Better Homes & Gardens, Food & Wine, and even the last few issues of the now-defunct Rosie.  While it had long ago been decided that I would keep my Food & Wine mags for future reference, I think it’s about time I got rid of the rest.  There’s the pressing need to make room for more supplies and projects.

I’ve done less than half a dozen magazines, but that in itself is an accomplishment.  I haven’t done much in terms of my Scrap Mag Project.  It’s something I’ve had to put aside because of the thousand and one other things that I’ve been trying to finish.  The magazine clean up should bring me closer to actually creating something from all those captions and letters I’ve meant to clip.  Soon, I hope.

I’m back to that phase where I find myself wishing that there were more hours in a day,and more days in a week.  I don’t know if it’s just the jetlag or if there are just too many things going through my mind.   I am still “crawling” through the last few chapters of Dear John.  (which I have to finish soon, what with the movie hitting the big screen this February.)  It’s the start of another year and I am nowhere near the “reading goal” I had set for myself this time last year.  Let’s give it another try this year.  The books that are waiting to be read are still on my book shelf. 

I’ll get to that soon enough.

Leave a Reply

