Remembering Paris..

Alan is spending the last 5 days of  this two-week business trip in Paris.  Angelo and I miss him dearly and just can’t wait to have him back in New york again by Wednesday.

I pulled out my two scrapbook tomes of our trip to Paris in 2006.  Angelo excitedly looked at the pictures we took as I skimmed through my layouts.  It was like being transported back to a favorite place and a favorite time.  I sighed with a smile on my face as I heard Angelo ask – “Mommy, when are going there?”

I remember how we kept talking about how one day we would walk the streets of Paris with Angelo.  He was too small to bring with us in 2005 and again in 2006.  When we finally travelled to Europe in December of 2007, it was Brussels and Bruge instead.  I have fallen in love with Paris twice over and hope to one day renew my affair with the City of Lights.  It’s a tough sell to Alan because he’s there at least once a year, but I might get lucky.

Meanwhile, I am looking at photographing my scrapbook layouts and digitally uploading them so I have them hard copy and also digitally.  It’s rather tricky photographing the 12×12 layouts and converting them into jpeg files.  The bigger problem is being able to properly acknowledge artistic credits for the various components of digital scrapbooking elements I used.  After all it’s the very point of having spent all that effort creating the scrapbook layout: to preserve the memories.

Every time I go through the layouts and see the photos now digitally reproduced and the bits and pieces of mementos I kept during the trip arranged in a 12×12 paper mat of sorts does indeed bring me back to the feeling and to the sights.  It brings back the feeling of awe, the exhaustion through all the walking, and the longing to go back there.  In time, I tell myself.

Angelo also asked where the scrapbook for Manila happens to be.  Oops.. time to start those scrapbooks, I guess.  Not enough hours in a day.  But they will get done.  More so since I am starting to experiment with creating my own background paper as I am getting into crayons and watercolor.  I am not totally giving up the digital scrapbooking resources I have been relying on but I am beginning to have the confidence to create my own.

I have managed to create some watercolor background paper for inchies which I intend to use as scrapbook and card embellishments — using my growing photo stock. 

I can’t believe the weekend is over.  I had meant to work on posting more items for sale in my Etsy store but I wasn’t able to get that done.  (Keeping my fingers crossed I can get something up between tonight and tomorrow.)  I did manage to pull together two new pieces to sell and a third for myself.  (Happiness is a cluster earring of assorted pink glass crystals.)  Meanwhile I have to clean up and get ready for the coming work week.  Another Monday is here.. hopefully not as wet and windy as the weekend has been.

My first attempt at photographing a scrapbook layout from my Paris 2006 Book
My first attempt at photographing a scrapbook layout from my Paris 2006 Book: Used the front page of a local Paris Magazine, my airline ticket, and captions printed and assembled from paint color chips
Leave a Reply

