As dusk creeps in..

Fall.

I think of the rich colors of autumn with anticipation.  (It literally made me smile as  I typed that line.)  It’s getting dark outside now, and the sun is getting ready to set.  So gone are the past 8pm sunsets that were characteristic of summer.

I keep thinking of wanting to walk in Central Park and take pictures to document the changing landscape.  It’s just a bus ride away, but it’s cold and there’s work and there’s just no time.

Our tree-lined streets at home are also changing colors.  Glorious hues of yellow and orange and red are beginning to show.  Two years ago, I amassed quite a portfolio of photographs of autumn.  I never got the chance to follow through with the succeeding year, but I am keeping my fingers crossed I will have better luck this time around.

It is the most dramatic of the seasons as you see a colorful and very physical change in the landscape — what with the trees shedding its leaves to prepare for the winter.

I arrived in New York ten years ago in the middle of summer, and saw how glorious fall can be in a tree-lined area where the grass was perpetually blanketed by oranges and yellows.  I collected leaves and pressed them between pages of my heavier books.  I still have some of them.  I also did collages of almost-dry leaves onto picture frames which I still have, although much of their color has faded.  I am hoping to experiment with preserving the color by using some resin coating on the surface once they are done.  Ambitious, I know.

I’m all “crafty” again, hoping to find the time to actually do some of these projects.

I had hoped to work on paper basket weaving during the summer, but fall is here and I have been unable to do that.  My scrapbook project is on hold, but I am at least gathering existing layouts and mementos.  Too many things on the planning board.

Halloween is just around the corner and I already have some fall decals on my windows.  This weekend, Alan is hoping to do some painting in the living room which means another major production.  Our home continues to take shape 8 years after we settled in — and we have many other projects lined up as we have made up our minds we’re staying put.

In the meantime, I’m keeping busy with the bracelet creations.. hoping to move on to necklaces soon.  Earrings are on hold (as I have a lot of them up for sale for now.)  There just aren’t enough hours in a day, but I am making do with what I can get.

Leave a Reply

