Our 2010 Christmas Card

So the greeting cards were sent (most of them, at least) — and although I had gotten caught up in the holiday frenzy and ended up sending my cards a tad bit late — from the looks of it, they made it to those I managed to send one.

The Gonzalez Christmas Card 2010

(Apologies to those who didn’t get it this year.. next year, I’m making the cards in October!)

I had made up my mind a year ago that I would use this snowman artwork Angelo had done in Kindergarten, but typical of such long-distance planning attempts, I forgot.  That is, until someone picked up the artwork in Flickr and asked for permission to include it in drawingdreams.org’s display of children’s art.  I was floored.  It was but an innocent attempt of a proud mom to showcase her little boy’s masterpiece.  I was very, very proud.

As of today, Jan. 13, Angelo’s snowman can be seen here.

I have been making my christmas cards off and on for several years now.  There is something different about actually taking the time to make them, no matter how elementary they may be, and then sending them off.

This year I decided to do a collage of sorts, pulling five different elements together and then arranging them on the front of the card in different ways.  The card to the right is one of the set, each one unique.

I used digital scrapbook elements and cut them up in rectangular shapes in more or less uniform, but not exactly uniform sizes.  I then picked up a snowflake paper punch from Martha Stewart’s collection of paper punches and cut up leftover red and gold giftwrapper. (I even used some from a gift I received.  What a waste to just throw away those gorgeous gold and silver and sparkly red gift wrapping!)

I used my favorite paint swatch chips from your regular home improvement store which I printed with either Happy Holidays, Maligayang Pasko and later, Happy New Year, but instead of pasting them directly onto the collage, I attached them to the whole collage via mounting tape to make it “float” above the graphic.

I was also fortunate enough to have come across a roll of laser cut MERRY CHRISTMAS red ribbon at the dollar store (!) which I cut up and used as the greeting on the front.

I don’t have a picture of the inside here, but I rendered the snowman in washout mode and then typed our message on it, with the URL for Angelo’s snowman typed up for the free plug. (Proud Mom, I told you!)

I would have used buttons and more embellishments, but I had so little time!

View a selection of the cards I managed to photograph here to see how I created one-of-a-kind cards using the same set of embellishments and elements over and over again.  No two cards were exactly alike which added to all the fun.

Credits for the elements used in the card:
* Red and white stripe: Journalers from Designer Digitals by Katie Pertiet
* Paper Dots and Striped Paper from the Happy Go Lucky Freebie download by Shabby Princess

Leave a Reply

