Art Journal Every Day

It’s Julie Fie-Fan Balzer’s fault that I’m even attempting this.  Although I am by no means anything or anywhere near the artist that she is, stumbling upon her blog/website and reading up on her “Art Journal Everyday” challenge has inspired me to make an attempt at actually coming up with some idea or other and see what I can produce h at the end of the year.

I can already “hear” the unbelievers asking where will I get the time to do what I intend to do… With very simple ideas and in small steps, I can come up with something.

My first dilemma is what “journal” shall I use?  Do I get a composition notebook and paste my works there?  Do I use a moleskin?  Do I create a scrapbook and if so, what size?  I want to get this right.

Should I take it as a sign that I cannot find the watercolor set I had been saving and caressing all this time, so afraid to actually open the tubes and start using them?  And where did that craypass (oil pastels) set actually end up in after I fished them out of the treasures I had bought in my dear, dear National Bookstore during my last visit in July 2010?  (I will find them.)  I do have my 96-piece Crayola set in my little “locker” in the kitchen.  Plus, there’s the multi-set markers that I keep stashed away in a plastic container.

As of today, I’m leaning towards creating postcard size art journals which I can easily keep handy in my purse to write and doodle on wherever I may be.  The “canvass” would be manageable and not too daunting a size to fill up and complete.  That’s an idea.  But then there’s that question about whether that might actually be too small.  Hmmmm…

I am trying to write and talk a headache away.  My two Aleve tablets need a little help, I think, as my eye is still throbbing.  I am typing away in the dark with my laptop screen blazing in the almost pitch black darkness here in the room.  The little boy is sleeping beside me.

I remember he saw one of my “sun” doodles which he admired and couldn’t quite seem to believe was a work of art by Mom.  He seemed to be incredulous when he asked, “Is that your Art, Mama?”  And the look on his face said it all.

I think I’m pretty much settled on postcard sized art which I can just put on another sheet to complete it if I need more space to work on.  Of course it can never be really final until I see myself actually producing something in this size.  The notebook idea would be appealing were it not constricting in terms of how the journal would look if I did mixed art which is what I think I will be producing more of.  The composition notebook and all those lines would be such a distraction and may eventually become a source of frustration.  Decisions, decisions!

At a few minutes past 10, I would normally get up and grab my blank sheets of paper and make my first attempt, but the headache is killing me.  I think I will call it a night and make up for lost time tomorrow.

Let the journey begin!

0 thoughts on “Art Journal Every Day

Leave a Reply

