Art Journal Every Day: Zentangle, a first attempt

Art Journal Every Day: Black and WhiteEver heard of Zentangle?  It’s doodling with purpose and without.. so while I’m still trying to learn about it, I thought I’d give it a try today and voila!  My second of hopefully 28 hearts for the February Art Journal Everyday Project I’m trying to pull together for myself.

It was very therapeutic and relaxing, although I have to admit there was some pressure to come up with something beyond simple doodling.  I thought of the patterns that I loved to work with the most when I absent-mindedly scribbled on paper.  Flowers, swirls, lines.. Like my first heart, this was rendered on an 8″x8″ work area, with everything hand drawn.  I was going to use kraft paper but opted instead for white cardstock.  I’m happy I decided on that.

I used plain and simple black sign pen — as I am trying to keep with the idea of using what I have instead of spending for this project.

So why Art Journaling?  It’s not because it’s easier because sometimes, it is even harder to come up with something given my limited resources and artistic talent, but it’s another form of self expression for me.

I like how you can fill in spaces in random fashion without worrying about color or form.  Although the design was more deliberate than random, there was a lot of freedom as far as filling the spaces once the lines were drawn.  I scribbled spirals, did dots or simply shaded it in.   I thought about writing within the zentangle but decided the work spoke for itself and left it as is.  Perhaps the next one will have more journaling in words.  I’m raring to start a new piece, and this time, maybe in pink.

0 thoughts on “Art Journal Every Day: Zentangle, a first attempt

Leave a Reply

