Art Journal Every Day: Blessed

Art Journal Every Day: BlessedI have two other hearts I need to finish, but I stayed up until almost 2am Monday morning working on this one.  I would normally just create the 8″ x 8″ frame on a piece of kraft paper and tape it onto a folder for me to work on later.  The heart itself was created over the weekend but I didn’t quite have the journaling conceptualized until I sat down to finish it last night between “On Demand” viewing of my favorite TV shows.

I have set the goal of creating 28 hearts for each day of the month of February as a way of participating in the Art Journal Every Day project.  I must say it can be intimidating because there are a lot of real artists in the group, but I am doing this not to show off or compete but more to put my thoughts and feelings on paper through my own drawings, collages, and attempts at art.

This is my sixth and it’s the 21st of February.  I am trying but it’s not exactly something I sit down to finish in but a few minutes.  I currently have 2 cut-out hearts where the heart itself is already finished, but I messed up the background or journaling so I need to paste it onto a clean sheet to start over.  I can’t believe I have run out of glue, though.. horrors!

I have at least 2 other heart collages so that makes 4 works in progress.  While I am not totally optimistic I will finish my 28 hearts by the end of the month, I know I will be able to make my 28 hearts.  Looking at the big picture, though, I have no intention of creating 365 layouts for the year.  That would be too ambitious!

Hearts are easier to work with.  I try to think of something related to love.  Maybe I’ll be able to use these zentangle attempts in future products to showcase in my other Etsy shop, Paperkrafts,  where I have paper products for sale.  I have stopped production while I concentrate on making more jewelry pieces for GothamChick to get things moving by converting the supplies I have in stock into saleable pieces.

For now I am  just enjoying the doodling and the relaxation it has afforded me.  I can pick up a work in progress between chores like I did yesterday while cooking.  (Which reminds me, my hour-long break between breakfast and lunch is almost over.)  I like staying home because it lets me catch up with “me” time, but it also means being on my feet taking care of everyone else half the time.  Can you believe we got some snow again???  When will it end?!

Well, have to finish my works in progress and post them here.

“Blessed.  When I count my blessings, I start with all the love so many others have showered my life with.”

Leave a Reply

