And the week has begun..

Mondays are usually good days for me, even if it means going back to the grind.  I’ve been here at  my desk taking care of business so to speak, although I’ve been itching to write for quite a while now.

I’m happy to report that I finally finished A Game of Thrones which is  George R.R. Martin’s first book in his popular series A Song of Ice and Fire.  Today, I move on to the next  book, A Clash of Kings (A Song of Ice and Fire, Book 2) and I’m excited to continue the story from where it left off.  Even if there’s no way that I can make it in time for the release of his fifth book in mid-July, I’m reading voraciously to hopefully “catch up” with next year’s Season II on HBO.  (Book signing alert: George R.R. Martin is scheduled to have an author event on July 24, at 7pm at Barnes & Noble in Union Square.)

I am totally hooked!  I’m just happy that I’ve gotten to reading seriously again and adding to my bookshelf.

At the same time, I’ve managed to create a few pieces last night but which somehow got left behind in my rush to leave home today.  (So I guess I’ll be posting them tomorrow.)  I’m hooked on teeny-tiny freshwater pearls that I had acquired from a huge pearl sale here last year and from stocks sent to me by my sister-in-law from Manila.  I sat at my work bench until I realized it was past midnight and sadly, I had to put my pliers down to get some much needed sleep.  * sigh *

I was so happy to find some left over half-drilled freshwater pearls which I glued onto some gold findings I had purchased some months back but the piece actually has a loop for a dangle that I am still trying to make up my mind about.  (I can go the way of more pearls or just a single gemstone brio, perhaps.)  I’m still creating more stack stick dangles — this time using labradorite mini teardrop beads.  I know I have apatite beads with the same cut which I can make into a similar pair but I was hoping to post the labradorites first. =(

Between catching up with some chores yesterday while Alan and the tyke attended a birthday party in Long Island, I had a restful Sunday.  The late night date with my tools, though, has my body screaming for some sleep.  Later — in the bus on the way home.  There will  be time enough to indulge in that.

I think I’m getting on quite fabulously with trying to convert my “dormant” stocks into actual pieces.  Once I make up my mind about design, then it’s easy executing the piece and converting it from a plan to an actual accessory.  I am being drawn towards other possibilities but I am trying to stay focused.

Sadly, I haven’t been able to do anything for my Art Journal Every Day project, and it’ll be July already next week!  =(  Maybe I’ll be luckier in July.  We’ll see…

Leave a Reply

