Back to Art Journal Every Day

As if my days were not packed tight enough with work, motherhood, house chores and squeezing in what’s left to do “something for me”, here I go again (after vacillating over the first few weeks of January,) signing up for Art Journal Every Day as inspired by the great Julie Fei-Fan Balzer.  I used to stop by her blog at least once a day but I’ve been too busy of late.  (Plus I needed to make a determination as to whether or not I would attempt another try at art journaling.)  Well today she started sign ups again, and of course, I couldn’t resist.  Plus, her post “Art Journal Every Day: Letting Go of Expectations” seemed to push me towards giving it another try.

With my not necessarily every day attempt at doing an entry for my own Art Journal, I’m trying to see how much more profilic I can be this time around.  (Spoken without fear and with the knowledge that I am not even anywhere near starting a new piece!)  My art journal for 2011 is barely halfway done, so I think I’ll pick up from there.

I’ve learned a lot about art journaling this past year, but more importantly, I think I discovered more about myself in doing the limited number of entries I came up with in 2011.  For example, I never thought I’d enjoy doing watercolors so much.  I tried “gessoing” but it didn’t quite work for me.  I am continuing to develop my zentangling skills, and I have a project or two on standby.  There is just so much one can do and not do, or say and not say in an art journal entry.  I am so excited by the millions of possibilities.

Inspiration, I don’t lack.  There is much to write about, draw about and just create for.

So here goes another try at Art Journal(ing) Every Day.  Thanks, Julie, for the inspiration as always.

Leave a Reply

