Back to my Postcards

I have been collecting postcards for almost 20 years now, but my postcard collecting has been half-hearted the last couple of years.  I’ve mostly bought postcards from our trips, making a point of sending it back to us with inscriptions of the things we had done.  I have altogether stopped trading.

I am hoping to streamline my postcard collection to my main collecting interests which are: anything Filipino (vintage and new), anything New York (vintage and new), lighthouses, maps and now, art postcards or mail art.  I also have quite a collection of freecards or advertising cards from the Philippines, New York and other countries, but I just want to keep what I have and dispose of my duplicates or maybe make use of them as backing for altered postcards or mail art.

I have attempted to catalogue or upload my postcard collection to the web several times in the past, but finding an acceptable “format, theme or stylesheet” has been problematic so I gave up on that.  Well maybe it’s time to revisit the idea again.  I am seriously considering putting up a separate site altogether and maybe start trading again.  After all, I have a PRO Flickr account so might as well make the most of it.

One reason I had stopped actively trading was because I had fallen behind on some trades before I stopped.  I would like to make good on them but I have lost track.  Motherhood had gotten in the way, but I’ve always believed that I can always try to make up for my failure to make good on an exchange.  (Please e-mail me and let me know.)

Meanwhile, I’m so happy to have found that there are a lot of trading groups om Facebook.  Looks like the post office is getting some help with these snail mail trades.

Black and White Postcard of the Brooklyn Bridge

I have found postcard collecting very rewarding, more so when I was young and not yet able to travel.  I always said that postcards provided me a window to the world beyond the shores of the Philippines.

So I guess you can say I’m back to postcard trading, with the additional collecting interest of mail art or art postcards.

If you are interested to receive a postard from New York city, one of my art postcards (to trade for one of your own), or if you are interested to exchange postcards within my collecting interests or if you want  any of the postcards I am trying to weed out of my collection, please e-mail me with your mailing address IN THE FORMAT IT’S SUPPOSED TO BE WRITTEN ON THE POSTCARD at postcardmailbox@gmail.com.

Leave a Reply

