International Union of Mail-Artists

My curiosity about Mail-Art or Correspondence art was so piqued that I searched for groups or websites dedicated to them and I landed here, the home of the International Union of Mail-Artists or IUOMA.  I’m still trying to navigate my way around there, and have been in awe of the serious art exchanged in the mail.  I love the whimsical, too, and enjoy reading the stories behind the postcards or other forms of mail art exchanged and posted.

I was actually surprised they accepted me, and I found that this is a very big group with a very broad membership.  I can fit into so many tiny gaps here and there among the giants.

POSTCARDS: Mail Art - FACESOne particular group that attracted me was a group called “EXCHANGE FACES” for which I painted my first “face”.  I’m not particularly good at it but you’ll never know unless you try, so try, I did.  Again, I surprised myself.  It wasn’t half as bad as I thought it would turn out to be, even if I only used highlighters in different colors and a silver oil paint based marker.  I also drew on top of a newspaper background that I had already glued onto a freecard.  I really meant to just draw what would be the “avatar” of this series in my Flickr collection of postcards.

The Newspaper collage postcards  have been coming along pretty well, too, and I’ve been good with the “creating” except that I’m missing August 2.  I remind myself to limit the time spent on creating the collage so that I don’t end up doing too much.  Two postcards tops for August 6 and 7 for a total of 4 today.  I’m going to try and make one a day at least and hope to do this as a habit.

Time for me to hit the sack now… Meanwhile, let me share with you one of the four newspaper collage postcards I made today.  Please click on the image to be taken to the set on Flickr.

[17] Mail Art: Newspaper Collage Postcard - The Wall Street Journal 06Aug2012 #1

Leave a Reply

