"I Declare"

I’m trying to get the hang of a keyboard for the iPad which, I know defeats the utility of the tablet, but typing wiz that I am, I still have difficulty writing with the touch screen.  Long nails?  Chubby thumbs?  Or just not the touchscreen friendly typist?  I don’t know.  I do know I’m VERY happy with this keyboard.


It was a rather busy day so I didn’t get to write anything this morning, or during the day for that matter.  I fell in line to get Joel Osteen’s new book, I Declare: 31 Promises to Speak Over Your Life and I got a copy for my sister, Ofie, who is the true Joel Osteen fan. I am just in it for the experience.

Like the previous time, Joel worked the line outside Barnes & Noble on Fifth Avenue, but this time took the extra effort to actually head to the end of the line which was closer to the Park Avenue side as it was.  He shook hands with the people who came, and as luck would have it, I was one of the lucky ones.  If Ofie were here, I would’ve had the perfect photo op for them as he didn’t breeze through — he actually spent time with the people who had come to see him.

Unfortunately, B&N didn’t provide a staff member to take photographs this time around unlike when I went to see Rob Lowe, so we had to take photographs a distance away.  I tried some shots of me with Joel’s table in the background but they didn’t register well.

I haven’t done a book signing in a while and I found out about Joel Osteen being in town quite by accident this morning while listening to the news.  As luck would have it, the book signing was at the nearest Barnes & Noble to me.  I took that as a message from above to go get a book and have it signed.  Amen.

I went about my day at work trying to catch up with the clean up.  I hate throwing away paper but sometimes I just have to.   I am monitoring my swaps and trying to keep up and have been good.  It actually excites me every time I come home to find out what postcards arrived.

Another day ended… rather heavy tonight, but we’re trying to work through it.  Age is something that we cannot fight, that we can accept.  There are things in life we just have to take as they come — as individuals, as a family.  Minutes to midnight and we’re getting ready to turn in for the day.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

