Autumn knocking

For the second day now, I’ve noticed that the leaves have started changing colors. I have been watching the trees along the pathway I walk to the bus stop every morning, and if I weren’t in such a hurry, I would’ve stopped to snap a picture. If I can, I will try to do that on a daily basis beginning tomorrow just so I can chronicle how Mother Nature majestically changes the landscape before our very eyes.

Central Park: Fall 2009
Central Park, Fall 2009

 

Sadly, time flies so fast during the seasons, more so in autumn. What you see this morning might change dramatically tomorrow. There are even certain points when rainfall will wipe away a whole swath of greens and leave you with a carpet full of wet leaves on the ground.  At times a robust leafy tree bursting with the colors of fall becomes a sad, bare tree after a weekend of shedding leaves.

Autumn, I think, is the best illustration of what everyone proclaims with such conviction, that life is short.  It is a reminder that what might be here today might be gone tomorrow. 

But there are those who defy the laws of nature as they say.  There is this unusual tree that I pass along 34th street around Murray Hill after the bus emerges from the tunnel in the morning which, despite its leaves turning brown and wilted, clings tenaciously to its dry leaves LITERALLY through rain, sleet or snow.  It must be some unusual property of that particular specie, but I have always marvelled at how it stands tall with those leave clinging to it for dear life.  No matter how much snow falls, and how long the snow stays — it stands like a proud old man not wanting to give in.

The mornings are colder now, the evenings colder still.  I am resisting wearing a fall coat for now — a jacket serves me well.  I always have a silk scarf in my bag anyway to tide me through the walk back to the house from where I get off the bus.  It’s cold enough not to have the airconditioner on.  Sometimes even the electric fan can be chilly.  (Me and my old bones. =) 

I like hot.  Spring and summer are my favorite times of the year.  Fall sees me hunkering down for the onslaught of the cold winter.  The only thing I like it about it really is the visual delight it gives, more so when we go for a drive in the countryside, or when I go walking in Central Park.  This year, I have a possible buddy to walk with, my serious photographer friend here at work, D, who gave me that non-digital camera a while back. =)  I didn’t get to go last year.  I am more optimistic about clicking away with my cam now that D and I talk more.

Isn’t that crazy that Central Park is a short ride away by bus (10 minutes) — and I have to plan it like a major trip?  Blame it on work, and the fact that I have to rush home to see the boy right after during the days I’m in the city.

I know I promised myself I’d take a day off one of these days to just go and do some things I like by myself.  I haven’t done that yet.  October might provide me an opportunity to do it, so wish me luck.

I’ve started thinking about my Christmas card again.  Last year, I did a zentangled piece.  This year.. we’ll see.  I will plan it this October and get it done by the first week of November.  For the last couple of years now, I’ve always hand-made my holiday cards.  Why stop now?

Meanwhile, My Altered Book has been changing quite drastically, with several additions and do-overs.  I’m now at page 96.  I’m chronicling the changes in photographs but I’ve been too lazy to upload them to Flickr and show them here.  I really love my happiness journal.   Every day I surf for passages to add to the book, I find so much wisdom out there that makes sense to me.  It helps to set my mood right in the mornings when I sit on the bus and I open the book and just pick a page with a passage and read.  Maybe I should read it at the end of the day, too.  It seems that I’m needing “calm” more and more when my day comes to an end.  Last night, I almost cried.  I held it in, took a deep breath, closed my eyes and just sat alone as the boy worked on his homework.

I try.

Leave a Reply

