Journaling on

Bryant Park Subway StationWe have been promised a “better and warmer” day today — although “better” is a relative term if you ask me. What might be better for me might not be good for you. Or what might be better for you might otherwise be worse for me. As long as another day comes, and I get the end of the day in one piece, and the family is good, I’m okay.

Today is one of those days that “family” extends to friends, too, more so P who posted on Facebook that she is undergoing tests again. I literally had to pause writing there as I felt a knot form in my chest. She is always in my thoughts and prayers — but there are times when all I can do is pause, close my eyes, and say one word in prayer.. “Please…” I know He hears… and P knows that as well. Thinking about her and the struggles she has had the previous years make me grateful that she is still here.. every time I go home, she is one of those I put on my list of “MUST” see people… and I am looking forward to spending time with her yet again next time I am in town.

I’ve been busy at work and on the side, trying to catch up with my art. The Art Journal Every Day project is going well and I’m working on three layouts right now. (1) The cover (background done, alpha to follow), (2) the first entry (background collage done, first pass of acrylic paint in) and (3) I’m doing mental sketches of a multi-page layout inspired by my altered book.

The Altered Book still goes from page to page and while I had put together a film clip of where the book stands as of today, 11 minutes was just too long so I am trying to flip the pages faster to make it fit into one of my current favorite songs running for4 minutes or so. I will upload it here to share with you to show how far I’ve come as far as prepping the layout backgrounds, finishing practically 3/4th of the book. (Note to self: look for more happiness quotes.)

While these projects may seem a lot, they are not things I work on on an everyday basis. One thing I like about these undertakings is I can pick them up when I want and then just go back when I have time again. Sometimes just brushing paint on a page can do wonders for therapy. The sense of finishing something or moving forward with the project even if only in baby steps can be a good way to end the day.

Inspired by Balzer Designs’ Julie Fei-Fan Balzer’s Project Life, I have started LIFE 4×6. It’s a series of 4×6 entries which I’ve started on pre-printed digital scrapbook backgrounds in my stash. No rules. Anything about the day, or anything that inspires me during the day. Like a short blurb of a diary entry. It doesn’t have to be written on the card, it can be a piece of notepad or a notebook page cut to size. I’m not too crazy by my current project cover but I’m sticking with it for now. It can be a simple snapshot — or a group of them. While the project that inspired this revolves around a photo subject, this is even more free-wheeling and can be about anything and on anything.

For example, today’s card has a quote I found from a Grateful Dead song which had been used in an article in an industry magazine. (I was browsing it only because it used nice paper and was printed with great graphics.)

“Once in a while you get shown the light in the strangest of places if you look at it right.”

– from Scarlet Begonias by The Grateful Dead.

It’s one of those quotes that make you go “hmmmmmmm….”.

MOVING UPDATE: Well, to move or not to move? Or keep two sites? My blog server has written, apologized and fixed the problem. Still, I get hit with “Server is busy” and I think other people get the same page when trying to access my space. For now, as I am still tweaking the other site, I will cross-post and just maintain it until I get pulled to develop one over the other. Pinaynewyorker.com hasn’t moved just yet, but if you encounter problems with the usual URL, please go to https://pinaynewyorker.wordpress.com

See you there … (or here..)

One thought on “Journaling on

Leave a Reply

