Midnight thoughts about Halo-halo

I found myself vegetating on the couch most of the afternoon — not really for lack of anything to do — but more for a lack of energy to do anything.

It wasn’t a total loss despite the fact that I managed to run through around 6 episodes of “Downtown Abbey” on PBS while stretched out on the sofa.  (It is quite an interesting show.)  After watching “Walking Dead” (half of which I watched while folding laundry), I tried to work on my “Book of Treasures” which is progressing rather well.  (Wrote about it at Gothamchick.com.)

It’s quite a project which has made me cut down on swaps drastically — coupled with the 30 days blogging prompts 2013 and my Shared Journal Experiment.  (More on that later.)

It was a nice day today but I stayed indoors.  I whipped up a fancy lunch for everyone at noon but I didn’t quite have the appetite once all was laid out on the table.  It’s warmed up and much of the snow is done.

Thinking about halo-halo again.  This time not because of the snow but because it’s hot tonight.  Somehow it doesn’t quite do it for me this time around.  Sometimes, dreaming of home just makes things worse when you know you don’t know when you can go home again.  But we’re thinking about it… might be sooner than I originally thought.  It sure would be nice — whenever it happens.

My dreams of home have been full of anxiety.  I’m always losing a bag.  And that can’t be good considering even when friends offered to put my book bag in the trunk when I was lugging around tome-like text books (all hardbound, too!), I would refuse and cling to my bag as if my life depended on it.

I’m still hoping Mommy gets to come over for a visit, so that I don’t have to rely on a trip home to see her.  If she comes, I can skip Manila.  Then I remember… the halo-halo back home (more so the one served at the Manila Peninsula) are not quite the same when served  on this side of the world.

The previous weekend, we were at Max’s in New Jersey, but we were all full by the time we put away the leftovers to take home so I passed on the halo-halo..  We went to Amelia’s Bistro for dessert and although the tiramisu was heavenly, it wasn’t the same.   (Now I’m getting hungry.)

Well we’re almost halfway through March.. they called me last Saturday (Friday night in NYC) so I can greet Mom a happy birthday.  She turned 73.  Last year, we threw a small party for her.  I would’ve wanted to do the same this year but it just can’t be.  I’ll treat her to a birthday celebration when she comes over.

She was happy with my gift… she was happier to speak with her dear grandson.  It’s so heartening to hear Angelo saying “I miss you, too” and “I love you, too, Grandma..”… it sounds like such a grown up conversation.

Soon it’ll be April.  I’m usually good about April but for once, (and since last year’s birthday), the additional year feels “OLD”.  (Emphasis supplied.)  Where did the year go?  I’m not even going to attempt an answer to that question.

So many things had happened in the previous year.  I wouldn’t even know where to begin if I were to write about the significant events of last year.  So much has changed and so much has remained the same.

Time for me to welcome Monday and drift off to la-la land.. hoping I dream of halo-halo this time instead of all these anxiety attacks of shopping mall and airport curbs and bags that get lost, are lost, or are taken from me.  Maybe the craving is also because of my planned diet which I should really start very soon.  Tomorrow?  Let’s wait and see.

Leave a Reply

