Friday thoughts

I have been itching to write since this morning but had to wait until the lunchbreak hit — and so here I am.  (I’m trying to instill discipline so I can get more work done.)   I usually write the title of the post, but I have no idea what to call this one, because I have a hundred things I want to write about. 

Change of plans.  You know how you peg your calendar on someone’s plans and look forward to something nice like a very light and relaxing week — then that someone (the boss) changes HIS plans.  So I’m twiddling my thumbs trying not to let it get to me.  He was supposed to go on a trip then changed his mind.  I guess it means it’ll just be another regular work week.  I’m just glad I haven’t set up any lunch dates, but I am hoping I can find time to spend even just a quick one with cousin M somehow.

Feeling the love at work.  The boss did make my day with a stellar review which makes me feel appreciated indeed.  Of course we can always hope for more (chaching!) but I SHOULD be happy and AM happy about the figures I saw on my comp sheet.  (God is good!)  I always remind myself that I am more than fortunate to (1) have a job in these uncertain times, (2) have THE job that I have, given how huge this organization I work for is, and (3) that I feel secure where I am, although I am never one to get complacent.

Missing home again.  I’m over the denial of Mom’s visa renewal.  We’re making other plans.  Still, I miss home terribly.  Thinking about the bibingka with quezo de bola at Via Mare… halo-halo at the Peninsula.  Even just the hot air.. the hot pandesal (which is tops on my boy’s list)… sigh.   I still dream of the day when I can spend a birthday back home… someday.

Freezing cold in NYC!  I went out to grab lunch for the boss and maybe a treat for me, but I had to go out and rush back in because the air was frigid.. BAD!  I couldn’t wait to go  back inside the warm confines of my cubicle.  (Forget that there is such bad static on the floor we actually see the sparks fly.)

Happy Friday, everyone!  (

2 thoughts on “Friday thoughts

  1. to this day it still baffles me how one’s visa can be denied when the person is not in the terrorist list, really. sorry to hear that about your mom. another pinay blogfriend’s sis’s visa got denied. she was just coming to be her maid or honor. unbelievable, isn’t it?

    Like

  2. Wow, your mom got denied even though she’s been here and went back on time? Really it is the draw of the straw in the US Embassy. Am sorry to hear that Dinna. Maybe next time she will get lucky.

    Like

Leave a Reply

