Looking ahead.. 5 years, 10 years, 15 years… (30 days of blogging prompts 22)

Where do I see myself in 5 years? 10 years? 15 years?

I don’t want to over think this post because it’s about the future.  Who knows what the future will bring?  Between last year and now, I have had quite a struggle getting from one point to the other and I really want to dwell more on the “now”.  One thing I have learned is that we can always dream about how the future will turn out, but in the end, much of it is out of our control.  The only thing that we can really control is how we react to whatever life throws our way, or what we make out of what we are given.

I always try to look forward with optimism, no matter what has happened or is happening in my life.  Optimism, as I had written, doesn’t necessarily mean that one is whole and unbroken or happy.  It is constantly looking forward and knowing and believing that things will get better.

I read from a young blogger’s space (Julienne) that she knows everything happens for a reason, but she wishes sometimes she knew what that reason was.  I want to tell her that the reason is not always that obvious, that in time, it will be revealed.  I believe that.  I also believe that if we have faith, we know that God will take care of us. 

My plans no longer go beyond a couple of months at a time.  I move forward as time passes.  Right now, the farthest I can see is the end of the year.  Trips planned.  Friends to see.  Milestones for Angelo.  It’s my birthday on Tuesday but I haven’t quite planned about that either beyond taking the day off and making a date with my little guy to go and spend time in the city, have lunch at the local Outback and the highlight of his trip to Manhattan: visit the mega Toys R’ Us in Times Square.

I’d like to think I’d live to a ripe old age and as I said, like Betty White, still have my head all straight even when I am old and gray.  But the truth of it is, we really don’t know what life has in store for us.  We all hope to live long and see our children grow old themselves, but my view of growing old has had a drastic overhaul given how life has snatched away a friend or two too soon.  At least I know I’m planning for at least until the end of the year.. living life a day at a time.

IN FIVE YEARS:

  • I’ll be 52 years old.
  • Angelo will be in high school
  • We’ll be preparing him for college.
  • I’d still be working (maybe for the same company or another company by then?)
  • I’d finally be able to string pearls.  (Still learning.)
  • I’d still be blogging.
  • I’d be better at my crafts.
  • I’d have a substantial inventory in my store and I’d be starting to think about retirement (in 10 years?)
  • I would have finished my 100 voices project. (and maybe a second installment?)

IN TEN YEARS

  • I’d be 57 years old (and hopefully still healthy and whole.. my family has a history of cancer.)
  • I might’ve opted for early retirement if I were still with the same company at age 55.  (Although I doubt it.)
  • I’d probably be working on an actual business besides work, preparing for retirement.
  • Angelo would be 19 years old and probably in college, hopefully still living with me.  (We’re trying to bribe him this early to stay at home.
  • I’d have finished a second installment of 100voices(this time of not-so-ordinary people).

IN FIFTEEN YEARS

  • I’d be 63 years old and hopefully still alive.
  • I’d be working a post-retirement part time job or be managing a full-time business.
  • Angelo would be 24 years old and either working or studying and completing a graduate degree.
Leave a Reply

