Must see movie: Much Ado About Nothing by Joss Whedon

Can't wait to see this one: MUCH ADO ABOUT NOTHING by Josh Whedon

I have known of Joss Whedon because of his work on Buffy, the Vampire Slayer and Angel. (Trivia: Guess who my boy was named after? The “Champion”.) I’ve sat through re-runs, bought the DVDs and know practically every character second-hand. (Hint: I’m actually not the fan. I just watch with the fan. And recently, the boy has become a fan, too.)

I’m not quite that crazy about the shows to know exactly when this or that character entered the story, but I know enough about who is who. My personal favorite: Angel. (If I had a daughter, I turned down the suggestion to name her “Buffy Ann”, but wouldn’t have minded “Angela”.) I like the way Whedon was able to play dark and light without being whimsical, and how he managed to keep those two stories running through season after season.

So when I was googling Much Ado About Nothing, I was pleasantly surprised to see that Joss Whedon has come up with his own adaptation of one of my most favorite plays by Shakespeare for the humor and the romance that it so successfully intertwined in its endearing characters.

The version that I have watched many times over was the 1993 version where Denzel Washington and Keannu Reeves were brothers as Don Pedro and Don John, respectively.  (Yes, only in a Shakespearean performance can you get away with that contrast.) It was brilliant, it was great, and I love, love, love that movie. (Right next to What Dreams May Come
and You’ve Got Mail and “Got to Believe in Magic” of Claudine Barretto and Rico Yan.) It was a period pic and set to music of the time as well.  Whedon’s version looks like it is a contemporary take on the play with some of his former actors playing roles.  It’s supposed to open the Seattle Film Festival this May but will not go into actual distribution until June. CAN’T WAIT!

Here’s the official trailer:

2 thoughts on “Must see movie: Much Ado About Nothing by Joss Whedon

Leave a Reply

