Sigh no more (Wishing the allergies away)

I’m trying to be productive despite the onslaught of allergies. Sigh… I love spring but I hate that it brings in the allergens.  I’m very sensitive to them in the atmosphere, and I start sneezing or feeling them in my air passages when the windows are left open.  Sometimes I end up having to drink meds even as I am about to sleep when my eyes get all watery, and the outer layer of my eye “swells”.   It doesn’t surprise me anymore when I end up sneezing as I walk out of the house.  I really should be on my allergy meds every day now but I keep forgetting.  (Drinking my multivitamins, though.)

So I’ve been trying out the techniques I learned from the craft fair last April 13.  Below you’ll see Maria of  Another Stamp Company who was such a great instructor for ink sprays and stamping on tags.  (It was more because the work space was more easily controlled with a smaller canvas.) You can visit her blog here. I only got two Dylusions ink sprays, but I have a four-pack of Walnut ink.   I also got a craft mat and I’m so glad I did, because it helps in creating the effect Maria was teaching us about.
Allentown Rubber Stamping & Paper Crafts Fair - 20
Unfortunately, my first attempt at “duplicating” what Maria taught me was done after dinner, so I don’t have enough light to take photos.  She did demos of how to make the inks work together on paper, on the craft mat, etc.

Allentown Rubber Stamping & Paper Crafts Fair - 21

I will do a separate step by step later on and hopefully be able to impart the techniques I picked up.

My hands are stained with ink despite washing with dishwashing detergent and applying nail polish remover.  I guess I’ll just have to keep washing them over and over until they are totally gone.  I’m not complaining.  I’m quite happy with what I’ve come up with, and only wish I had more colors.  I try to be cautious with trying out new mediums and trying to see how good I can work with them before splurging.  This way, I know now that I can and love the way the inks work together so they are on my wishlist.

I thought I’d blog and stop by here as I wait for the manila folders to thoroughly dry.  Next step is to stamp them and maybe rub distress ink on the edges to “seal” the border.  I even managed to do larger layouts for the journal I’m finishing tomorrow and sending off Monday.  (Finally!)

I’m really glad that I did go to the craft fair.  All the more I’m convinced I should try and head to the Springfield, MA event in June.  (Check out the complete schedule of the Heirloom Products craft fairs for the rest of the year here.)  I’m already researching the bus trips from NYC to there and back on the same day.  I have ordered a die cutter as a result of the many materials I discovered there, and once I get it, I can go crazy with the tools!

I feel like a young girl let loose in a doll store just thinking about all that.. then I start sniffing again.  (Sigh..)

I wish the allergies would go.  Then again, I’ve been plagued with these ailments since birth.  It’s a matter of getting used to it, I guess, along with mouthing off the warning when I start sniffing in the office that I’m not contageous, just suffering from allergies.  I’m keeping my fingers crossed that it won’t trigger asthma.  (I have a wedding in 4 weeks!!)

At least my eyes have been spared — today.  They can really be a bother because my eyes get itchy and scratching starts to irritate them bad —  I have to stop scratching them when that outer layer starts to swell.  That’s when I gulp down the allergy meds and then head off to la-la land.

Time for me to hit the sack just now..  Have to put away my stamping/dyeing gear on the kitchen counter…

2 thoughts on “Sigh no more (Wishing the allergies away)

Leave a Reply

