Daily Prompt: The Interview – Olivia Pope

So here goes a quick stab at the daily prompt over at The Daily Post.

I’d sit here and write away but it’s almost 1am.  The only reason I’m still up is I’m waiting for my hair to dry a bit.  I got a notice that we’re getting a boiler upgrade tomorrow which may lead to hot water and heat interruptions.  I’m not risking it and I’d really rather not take a shower at work.

I was thinking of doing Jack Bauer at first.  Too complicated.  Too long a story to tell.  And just as I was going through the existing list of entries already written, one name popped up: Olivia Pope.  I’m talking about the lead character in my current favorite of favorites of all TV shows  — SCANDAL, which is another Shonda Rhimes creation.


This is one show I don’t mind watching over and over again, even in one sitting.  When there’s no other show that catches my fancy, I just hit restart as the episode ends.  When the show is on haitus, I run the previous season over and over again.

I like Olivia Pope because she’s a very smart and strong heroine.  A lawyer who doesn’t practice law but instead runs a crisis management office under the banner of Olivia Pope and Associates.  She is a complicated woman who is in love with the incumbent President who has a first lady who is fighting tooth and nail to keep her man because of her own personal ambitions.

So I imagine us sitting at the park where she usually sits with Cyrus, the sitting Chief of Staff.  She’d be holding her coffee, and maybe so would I.

Then her phone would ring and she’d tell me, “I’m sorry, it’s the White House…I have to go.”

Interview postponed for another day. (To be continued…)

2 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: The Interview – Olivia Pope

  1. Elaine

    I met Tony Goldwyn when I was in Chicago (the same week that you were there). It’s such a shame that I was clueless about Scandal when I had a chat with him. I’d probably start watching this show!

    Like

Leave a Reply

