100 Ideas 2013: 10 Most Important Things

And I thought this swap wouldn’t be due until the end of the month…  I need to do 20 by the 23rd which is — uhm — days away. This is in connection with a swap on Swap-Bot.com for which I have a page dedicated to here in my blog under Journal Prompts.    I do intend to do the whole list, hence, the page.  But for now, I must complete 20.  So you’ll see me doing the easier ones, and reserving the more difficult prompts for after the swap deadline.  Please refer to the page for a listing and their corresponding URL.

58.  List your ten most important things, (not including animals or people.)

Suddenly stumped… hmmmm.  Okay, here goes, in NO PARTICULAR ORDER!  And I am going “practical” not “profound”, so if my answers may appear shallow, I’m speaking from top-of-mind.  And I don’t consider religion a thing, or a principle a thing.  I’m following the intstruction to the letter and sticking to “important things” not including animals or people.

1.  My Blackberry / Cellphone.  I know.. I didn’t want to write a tech device as the first item on my list of 10 but I have to admit, it’s indispensible to me.  First, it’s my mobile phone.  (Go sue me, I’m cheap… I use my company PDA as my phone.. )  Secondly, it keeps me connected not only to work but to my family here and in the Philippines.  I feel kind of “vulnerable” without it and would usually go back home to get it if I happened to have walked out without it.  It’s more for practical purposes than for anything.  I’m not picky — give me another PDA/mobile phone and I’ll take it, blackberry or not.

2.  Lipstick.  Vanity, I know.  While dressing up to me means going out of the house made up, my morning ritual makes it necessary for me to do my make up AFTER I have left the house, but I do dab on some color on my lips just so I don’t go out barefaced until I can paint it on while on the bus.  This is important to me because I consider my physical well being important to my own self-esteem.  It helps boost my confidence more so when I am in a work environment.  I consider looking good part of being professional which is a requirement at work.

3.  My house keys.  How will I get into the house if my son’s not there to open the door?  It’s another one of those things which make me feel “incomplete” if I happen to leave the house without them.

4.  Money. I’m not talking about lots of it, but for practical reasons, I try not to leave the house without a token amount of cash because you’ll never know when the plastic will be useless to you.  Say when you want to get an ice cream cone, a tiny-weeny thing at the store, or you end up someplace where plastic is NOT king. 

6.  Food.  (No, I don’t carry food around) I make sure we have food good for a couple of days at a time and that I have something in the pantry that we can have as a meal if electricity and gas fail us.  With a growing boy and two other mouths depending on what’s in the pantry, I try to stay on top of this.

7.  My Identity-related plastic.  Right now, I have two.  Since I don’t drive and I’ve been so lazy renewing my non-driving state ID, I have my greencard (alien permanent resident card) good for another year (which means either I try to renew or I seek the red, white and the blue by converting citizenship) and my employee badge which gets me in and out of the green glass building in Manhattan.  It gives me a semblance of legitimacy.  It says who I am.  (I don’t carry my passport everywhere and unfortunately, it’s expired at the moment.)

I am stumped once again and tempted to look at other responses, but I want to keep going from top-of-mind.

8.  A roof over our heads.  10 years ago we made a choice to buy the place we currently live in. It’s been our little nest eversince, and I like that it’s small enough that you just have to holler to get everyone’s attention.  It gives me something to go to at the end of the day and lay my tired head down to rest.

9.  Pictures.  I’m a sentimental gal, what can I say?  I have a thing for the printed over the digital, so over the years, I have brought home pictures from my youth to New York from trips back home to the Philippines. Those I couldn’t take, I have resorted to taking digital pictures of just so I don’t lose those memories.

10.  Medication for the little ills of someone getting older.  I always carry a small bottle of Aleve (equivalent of Naproxen for those not on this side of the world), and I’m proud to say I haven’t taken any for more than a week.  So considering how hectic my life has been the last 2 trying to get the boss to the other side of the world to see Boris and Igor, that’s a feat!  I think I derive some sense of security in knowing physical relief is just a pop away in my bag.

Leave a Reply

