Pinay New Yorker in China… ?

It befuddles me why a Chinese company would want to register my domain name in China when they probably have no idea what the name means, or if they do, they have no association with the name itself.

I received an email a few days back from a domain registry company in China asking me if this company was related to me as they were seeking approval for the registration of the .cn domain name.  I didn’t even get flattered by the inquiry — I was miffed.  And no, I don’t think I should get flattered, because although I am but a peep here, I have taken cared of the name and have renewed the domain name year in and year out because I have laid claim to it by building it here.

And then this…

Today I got another e-mail, this time from the company itself (which I refuse to name here because I don’t want to help advertise them) saying whether or not I protest, they will go ahead and register it because it is important to their business.  Which again, I cannot understand, because how can they be related to something Filipina and New Yorker.  I am taking offense that they want to be associated with the name.  So what would happen is when an internet search is initiated for Pinay New Yorker, the search results would show them in the list of hits along with my URL.

I feel like I’m being used.  And what can be so darn important about Pinay New Yorker to a company in China?

Leave a Reply

