Daily Prompt: Getting life right

DAILY PROMPT: In the comedy “Groundhog Day” Bill Murray experienced the same day again and again, stuck in a time loop until he got the day “right.” What day would you choose to repeat until you got it right? Do you think it’s ever possible to get life “right”?

I’m ending the second day of a long weekend, and while Monday has yet to come, I’m already wishing it was only Saturday.  I’ve taken it easy and not pushed myself.  I even napped twice today between breakfast and a lobster lunch, and after.  I’m making a mental note not to do lobsters for a while because it ends up to be such a big production in the kitchen, and the clean up is the most difficult.  (Lobster off the grocery list.)  It’s just that FreshDirect had them on sale, and I’m such a sucker for sales. LOL

Back to the daily prompt.

I cannot think of any particular instance or day that I had to get right or wish I had gotten right, not for lack of those “I wish I had done that differently” kind of day, but because there are quite a few and I don’t know which one to pick.  I’d like, instead, to focus on the second part of the prompt which is “Do you think it’s ever possible to get life “right”?

That, to me, is a deep question that can be answered in a thousand different ways.  Make it a million.  It takes a giant step back for us to see whether or not we got life “right”, and being our worst critics, we often find ourself answering in the negative.  But I beg to differ.  I think life — OUR LIFE — is what you make of it.  It’s what you do with your lemons — do you put them in water in a vase and just use it as decoration or do you make lemonade?

“Right” in this sense is what is right for us.  Others may think that I had made a mess of my life or that I had made bad choices, but it’s what I did with those bad choices that I believe answer that question.

It’s like picking your fight according to what you think you can handle at any given time in your life.  It’s about whether you press on or give up.

I’m the ultimate queen of the benefit of the doubt and I say that no matter how bad our decisions have been or whether or not we ended up landing flat on our faces, it’s how we dealt with those disappointments or frustations that define whether or not we got life right.

Again, that’s just me.

I wouldn’t want to go back again.  There was a time in my life when I would foolishly entertain those “might have beens” or “should haves”.  Whatever is done IS done.  Whatever has been lost IS gone.  Even the intention to make up for something can be moot.  So I bow my head and just let life go on.  I accept things as they come knowing I had brought myself to be where I am, and whatever consequences I suffer because of my mistakes in the past, I must just take in.

Yes, we can get life right.  It’s accepting that we got it right that is the bigger challenge for many.

3 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Getting life right

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt:Groundhog Day | Danny James

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Groundhog Day | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. Pingback: Would I really want a chance to do it again? | Hreodbeorht's Surf Report

Leave a Reply

