Daily Prompt: When I was Sixteen…

DAILY PROMPT:  Tell us all about the person you were when you were sixteen. If you haven’t yet hit sixteen, tell us about the person you want to be at sixteen.

.. I was a senior in high school full of hopes and dreams about going to college.  My biggest problem was landing in the “right” university, and the second was not being self-conscious around the boys.

.. I had a prom date in mind but as luck would have it, he already got invited to a different prom (another school) on the same night.  I was hoping he would invite me to his prom but one of his bestfriends had to take one of twin girls and they wouldn’t be allowed to go out if he didn’t take the other one.  (So much for us going to the prom on either side.)  But he did drop off a rose at my house on the day of the prom with no particular reason or dedication.  Just because..

.. I got rid of my eyeglasses and started to notice boys and had a blast attending parties even if I had a midnight curfew.  I had lost a lot of weight the year before and enjoyed dressing up.

.. I saw the difference between the La Sallites and the Ateneans and while I had good friends from both sides of the fence, so to speak, I found that the La Sallites were more sociable and gregarious — sealing the fate of my son-to-be. (Of course, I didn’t realize I might possibly raise him here in New York.  But had I raised him in Manila, his fate would have been sealed as I ended up marrying a La Sallite anyway.)

.. I wrote poems and I composed songs.  I wrote our graduation theme song and our corps hymn.  Don’t ask me where the creative juices went.

.. I was happy.  Of course, there was the usual teenage angst I had to deal with but I was not overcome by it.  I think I managed it pretty well and emerged from those teen years only mildly scarred (if at all).

.. I was comfortable and to some extent, pampered.  I didn’t know that I would have a difficult decade ahead but my optimism in my youth and my sheltered upbringing notwithstanding, I made it through.

.. I like ‘me’ when I was sixteen.  I wouldn’t have it any other way.

 

5 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: When I was Sixteen…

  1. Pingback: Only Sixteen | My Atheist Blog

  2. Pingback: sixteen with a bullet | peacefulblessedstar

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Only Sixteen | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  4. Pingback: Playing Adult | pussy has furballs

Leave a Reply

