Reconciling with my camera

I used to carry this camera (Fujifilm FinePix S2950 14 MP Digital Camera with Fujinon 18x Wide Angle Optical Zoom Lens and 3-Inch LCD) everyday everywhere I went.  It was one reason my purse was always bulky, but I liked it that way. You can literally say my camera and I were joined at the hip. I wanted to be ready in case I came across something snap-worthy.

Well, until my iPhone got my full attention and I decided to leave the camera behind at home.  I still used it, but trying to take pictures with the iphone and lugging a DSLR-like (but not quite) camera was too much except for those special trips where I thought it might come in handy.  I know that most iPhone users will agree that for all the versatility of the iPhone, it still leaves much to be desired when there is a serious photograph to be taken. I am not quite that attached to my iPhone to invest in a gadget to enhance my photography experience just yet.

I purposely prepared to take it to this previous week’s trip to Williamsburg because I figured there would be scenery to capture and I wanted to use it again.  And am I glad I did.

It seems like it was that time of the year when the flowers in full bloom were polinating and the butterflies were aplenty in the gardens that surrounded us like this one located in Busch Gardens.

Flowers and Butterflies

But it wasn’t the garden which was enchanting but rather the many butterflies flitting from one flower to another.  There were so many swallowtails like the one below which were busy doing their  thing to make sure the circle of life goes on.

DSCF8003

There were even so many of them that I was able to take several shots of pairs of them flying close to each other.
DSCF8008

It wasn’t so much the scenery but I was captivated by these gorgeous butterflies.  I first spied them at the Governor’s Palace in Colonial Williamsburg.  It’s a little tricky uploading them but I will do as much as I can.

I’ve made a promise to take the camera with me everywhere I go again, hoping to see more of these lucky shots. I’ve missed those crisp shots and my favorite macro angles. We have more pictures to take together.

Leave a Reply

