Flowers & butterflies in Williamsburg

DSCF8008

I finally uploaded the pictures to my Flicker account and you are welcome to browse anytime as all the photos are public.  I haven’t quite had the time to organize them under an album yet but they are there for sharing.

I got lucky with most of these shots although for every one you see, I probably discarded or deleted another one or two.  This is what I don’t get from the iPhone — a real tight macro shot and crisp photos even when the subject is in motion.  I guess you can say my camera and I are back together again.  I’m trying to plan a trip to Central Park one of these days, or before the summer is over.  Unfortunately for me, I just discovered that the Butterfly Conservatory at the American Museum of Natural History finished it’s run this June.

Flowers and Butterflies

There were so many butterflies that I manages some doubles — and there were quite a few.  The two shots here were taken at Busch Gardens (somewhere by France).

Flowers and Butterflies

The most striking, though, were the close ups of the beautiful butterflies.  The one above, though, was at the North Garden of the Governor’s Palace in Colonial Williamsburg.

I even spied one or two which had damaged wings but which flew about from flower to flower with no worries or cares.  A simple reminder that no matter how your wings may get clipped or damaged, life goes on.
Flowers and Butterflies

I hope you enjoyed my photos.  I am going to use these in my ongoing Thank You Postcard Project (which, by the way, has it’s own blog.  Click on the link and it’ll take you to “The Project” page.)  And of course, a couple will land on my Instagram feed.

Just trying to spread the love and the wonders of nature… More about our vacation in Williamsburg coming soon.

One thought on “Flowers & butterflies in Williamsburg

  1. Real sharp pictures of the butterfly. I lookedup Williamsburg and it is close to where am going in VA. We might go to the Colonial Williamsburg. Also, someone is interested in the necklace you gave me. She wants to know how much it would cost if she orders one.

    Thanks and have a wonderful weekend!

    Like

Leave a Reply

