And so it goes

I have always been a big fan of Billy Joel’s.  I had resisted buying any music on iTunes of his for the longest time because I had his CDs.  I never got around to ripping the music to the right format, though.  Then before the weekend, I discovered that he had a version of my current personal anthem, “To Make You Feel My Love” and there was no stopping me from getting Volumes 1, 2 and 3 of his Greatest Hits.

I’m still missing “It’s Just a Fantasy,” and probably a couple more from the older albums.  No rush.  I’ve been listening to the song of the same title of this post “And so it goes “, over and over again.  It was never really a personal favorite like “Lullabye”, “All About Soul” and “Uptown Girl” — not until now.

I guess the songs we listen to hit us differently depending on the particular time in our lives that we listen to it.  I had heard the song before.  It just didn’t resonate with me.  Until this weekend.  I have missed you, Billy Joel.  I’m still hoping I can catch your series over at Madison Square Garden.. maybe latter part of the year.  I am hopeful.  I wanted to watch the April 3 show and had looked it up early enough but hesitated to purchase the tickets.  Well, I really didn’t have any idea who I’d ask to go with me and I didn’t want to go alone!  Then I finally decided I would just buy a second ticket and decide closer to the date, and then the tickets were sold out.  Message from the universe: wait a while longer.  So maybe in the summer or fall?  Even if I have to go by myself.

“In every heart there is a room,
a sanctuary safe and strong.
To heal the wounds
from lovers past,
until a new one comes along..”

Here’s to another week ahead.. and spring…

We each have our challenges.. but we also have our share of blessings.  Reasons to smile and be hopeful.. people who help us go through the most difficult times with a sense of purpose.  I choose to focus on the things I ought to be thankful for.. like those who have taken my hand and joined me in my journey to “happy”.  Let’s.

Leave a Reply

