Those Facebook Memories

I don’t do Facebook as often as I used to for several reasons, and I don’t usually catch much there given the number of friends I have racked up through the years.  While I am going to seriously trim that list at a future time, I have to make do with what I am able to catch when I open the app on my phone or those few times that I actually open it on my PC.

Don’t you just hate and love those Facebook memories that keep popping up? Love them for the warm memories they bring, and hate them for reminding me about how I looked and was so different years ago– I am truly happier with the older and better me now.   Sometimes being reminded of how our feelings and life in general have changed can be both good and bad.

But I was struck by how something I said 7 years ago has changed meaning from black to white. Definitions have evolved. Feelings have changed. The world is now so different. “Family” then is so different from what it is now. But while I thought I was happy then, I realize now that I am in a happier and better place.

Those Facebook memoriesOne thing those Facebook memories do for me is show me how my little guy has grown.  I have those pictures tucked in my virtual or hard drive somewhere, and I do gush and turn misty-eyed occasionally when I see him as a baby or a toddler, or even as a grade schooler… He HAS grown.    For those moments, I am grateful to Facebook.

One thought on “Those Facebook Memories

  1. I still do FB but am starting to hate it now. It is a love-hate relationship. I hate reading Philippine politics, how divided we have become. It stresses me and am trying to avoid reading them now but when you turn to tv, it is the same things there.

    Like

Leave a Reply

