Home sweet home

Do you ever work from home? I am fortunate enough to be in a position that can occasionally take that option, and my job has entitled me to a home office set up that guarantees connectivity and access. So let’s just say I had to work from home, I have a laptop and printer/scanner, a mobile WiFi device, and my smart phone is company issued so I can have mobile access. Our phone system is configured in such a way that I can trigger phone forwarding remotely, either through my mobile or laptop. And yes, there’s the IPad. So you can say I am all set and able to work from home whenever the need arises.

The downside is that my position, by itself, is an “in person”, “on the job” engagement– I have to be there. Today, though, was one exception, because the boss is in another state, and she was even kind enough to tell me herself to work from home. While that might sound quite the privilege — working from home literally means monitoring my iPhone and/or laptop for the email traffic, and like most days, almost memorizing my boss’s calendar as everyone wants to get on it. (I am proud to say that you can ask me about a particular date in the next 60 days and I would be able to tell you if my boss was going to be in town or elsewhere. Then again, I have an exceptional memory.)

I was looking forward to sneaking in some chores (like doing my laundry.. yeah, right).. clearing the space where I usually put up my Christmas tree.. getting some grocery shopping done.. getting the poster board for Angelo’s high school audition, and maybe putting away my summer clothes. But there were early morning fires to be put out at work, and lo and behold, I just discovered my kitchen sink was leaking. I cleaned the mess up under the sink, called the management office, and decided to write here while waiting for the maintenance guys to come (to my rescue), or for the email alert to ring on the laptop.

A relaxing day, it is not.

My superheroes did arrive and the busted sink is busted no more. I did get to do my laundry, and some grocery shopping, and I got the big boy started on his audition piece, but didn’t quite get him to where I wanted us to go. But it was a start.

That’s how my day went– and I don’t think it was that bad at all, but it could’ve been better. See? Working from home isn’t always such a breeze unless the idea is not to really work.

