Less than 48 hours to Mom's departure

It may seem very corny or overly dramatic that I am counting down to Mom’s departure on Wednesday, but there’s no denying that her impending departure is tugging at my heart. This morning I left the mag-Lola cuddling with my Mom lovingly holding her precious grandson asking out loud what will become of Angel when she goes. More than being a scary thought, it’s actually a tad depressing, more so since this departure has a sense of permanence to it. Unlike Mom’s previous trips home where I could console myself with the fact that she was coming back, this time, I don’t have that thought to fall back on.

At best, there is that far-off plan to visit Manila again next year. If we fail to see that plan through, I’m hoping Mom can come for a short visit so that she and her apo can be together again. And of course there is the immigrant petition I will file for Mom once my own petition for naturalization is approved.

Personally, the thought that I will be 10,000 miled away again from everyone back home brings me back to those times when I was overwhelmed with extreme homesickness. I miss Mom already although I’m trying not to dwell on it too much because I might end up depressing her.

In the meantime, I’m trying to see her off and making sure she has all the pasalubong she means to bring home with her. How I wish I was the one bringing all that home, but I know I’ll get my turn in time.

Leave a comment