I love Paul McCartney

Part of my morning routine is to turn the bedroom TV on as I dress up to leave the house. I catch whatever I can of the morning news, particularly the weather, which helps me decide the ensemble I’m wearing. Being a creature of habit, it’s always either “Good Day, New York” or ABC News. Today it was the latter, and was I glad I was tuned in because there was a feature interview on (Sir) Paul McCartney in connection with the release of his latest album.

As the heading goes, I really have always loved Paul McCartney not just because he was so charming but more for the musical genuis that he is. For a man who doesn’t read music, there is just a wealth of talent that has come forth from this man. I remember how I used to wish he were my Dad (as if that were at all possible!) because I was too young to be his girlfriend.

I also admire him for his love for his first wife, Linda, who was constantly with him when he was on tour. Her death in 1998 must’ve been a real heartache that took him years to get over.

Before his split with Heather Mills, I would actually occasionally see him outside their apartment on 54th Street between 5th and 6th Avenues, sometimes with his daughter Beatrice. I wonder which one of the uncouple now uses that prime property.

He still looks good at age 65, and he’s still churning out great music. I don’t believe Sir Paul is just about to exit the stage just yet…not quite anywhere near that.