Monday Musings: Soledad and Company

MondayMusingsLogoI’m trying to keep my momentum here, hoping to post more regularly. If the pace at which I’ve been writing is any indication, then you know that things have been going rather slowly on my end.  Not for lack of anything blogworthy to write about — I have just been feeling lethargic.  Could it be the fact that I’ve been waking up between 4 and 5 in the morning most of last week?  Last night was the first straight slumber I enjoyed which saw me not wanting to get up when the alarm rang at 6am.  I was just grateful it was an uninterrupted morning slumber that saw me opening my eyes all fresh and ready to embrace the new week AFTER 5:59am!

Reading again: Soledad’s Sister by Jose “Butch” Dalisay

This is a  bit of a personal journey for me because I am actually reading a signed copy from the esteemed columnist and academician, Prof. Butch Dalisay.   (Read the Wikipedia stub about him here and the Philstar Author Archive of his column, Penman, here)  I had received this book more than 10 years ago from a friend then, but had never gotten around to reading it until now.  It should be a book I can easily finish in one sitting, but it’s a good read you want to savor and take on bit by bit, like that sinfully delicious box of chocolates that you just hope you could keep for the longest.  Funny and witty and truly Filipino, the book brings me home.  I’m still reading, so you’ll be hearing about this one again.

New discovery: Bittersweet NYC  – Who doesn’t like surprises?  A friend had gifted me a box of Diwali treats to celebrate this Indian holiday and I loved every morsel of it.  It went on my Instagram feed no less than three times, with these simple pictures of individual delicacies against a white backdrop.  Pictured here is their fairy fudge, a small square of heaven with pink glitter.  Yes, pink glitter you can eat!  If you like to indulge in not-so-sweet and not-so-ordinary but yummy treats, you should give these a try.  I will try to write more about this in my shopping blog, GothamChick Shopper, once I get that rolling.  (Nothing there yet, so don’t get too excited.)  I do get adventurous with my palate and being Filipino, we never shy away from exotic food.  This box of treats reminded me of our own delicacies back home from the many regions that make our culture so rich.  We have our kalamay and other kakanins — and this is not that much different.  One sweet surprise was the spicy chocolate truffle!  I liked the way the spicyness crept up at the end after you got to enjoy the chocolatey goodness of that one bite.  They’re based in Queens but do take orders on their website.  Not so sure that they actually have a physical shop, but they do pop-up stores in Manhattan occasionally like over the holiday of Diwali last week.

And the holidays are here!  I haven’t quite made up my mind yet about what I’m going to do for holiday cards.  I am starting to think of presents for my little guy and the people around me.  Not too many to give away, but I have some things I had set aside to make into present for some people who I’d like to play Santa to this year.

One thing I’m doing differently for Christmas 2015 is that I am thinking of getting a gift for myself.  We always think of the season of gift giving (be it Christmas or Hanukkah) as a time to give to others.  Have you ever thought about you deserving something, too?  It doesn’t have to be anything fancy, but I think one thing we must all do at the end of the year is to remember to take care of ourselves and cherish who we are.  What would be a nice present that would not break the bank, but would make for a meaningful holiday gift?

Lists and more lists.  I received my copy of the favorite list of dear Oprah, and I haven’t really had the chance to go through it — but who says we can’t make our own list of gifts?  (Trying not to make it too obvious that I’m thinking that would make for a good blog filler.)

Another review of my Things to do for 2015 is also in order — since the last update was August yet.  I’m almost dreading that list — because I am afraid I might not have made much progress.  From the top of my head, I know that I have to admit defeat in one or two which came and went and I missed it. (NY Comic Con 2015 for one..=(.. I know, I know..)

And never too early to start thinking of (1) The Lessons of 2015, (2) Things I want to do/accomplish before the year ends, and (3)  Things I wish I had done in 2015.  Okay, maybe not the last.  I’m not too sure that will bring me happy thoughts, but I think it’s a good way to check how one could have done things differently.

So we’re closer to the end of the year and before you know it, 2016 will be here!  This year has flown by… my boy has grown so much I am almost sure he will shoot up in the next 12-18 months and I’ll be looking up at him when I scold him.  Part of me dreads that, and part of me can’t wait.. motherhood.. !

Here’s to a blessed and fruitful week ahead.  I know mine has started off rather well, and I am not complaining despite the cold.. It’s just another New York autumn night..