Once upon a time…

I put up a website that turned out to be a business experiment.  I knew some HTML, I could create amateur webpages, and I thought, maybe I can do something that would put the “Filipino” and the “New York” parts of me together.  So I put up what I called an “East Coast Pinoy Hub Online”.  Looking back now, I ried to be too many things all at the same time.  I wanted to be an online store, a Filipino Entrepreneurial Directory, a music store both for Indie bands here and American indie acts playing the subways of New York, an e-zine for Pinoys, and a whole lot of other things.  So in the end the many facets of the “hub” fizzled out, then I had a baby which put everything on hold.  End of story.  Or so I thought..

I never let the domain go, and I have kept the webhosting account alive all these years.  And here I am again, trying to figure out what it is I want to do with the website.  So I’ve ressurected the website with a cover page and a promise of more things to come.  I’m exploring a few possibilities in the horizon, and more seriously considering and studying what I want to get into this time.

I want to put the Small Business Planning course I took years ago to good use and actually come up with a more solid business plan.  During this time of economic uncertainty, expensive experiments are out of the question.  While I am willing to put in some capital into what I want to do and accomplish eventually, I don’t have that much resources to risk in a possible loss.

Looking back now, the effort was valliant but truly amateurish.  Even the website as drawn before is nothing compared to the websites I’ve come up with in the years after.  But the lessons learned will hopefully help me make it work better this time. 

Any bright ideas out there?

Leave a comment