And the sun came out…even if just for a peek

I’m on solo parenting duty all week, and we did Religious Ed yesterday, brunch at Barnes and Noble, then we just stayed home.

Yesterday, I brought him in on time, attended mass (which I caught during the Homily) but I ended up with more than half an hour to kill.   I was actually hoping  to wait just inside the door of the school because it was cold out, but I was told that wasn’t allowed due to “security issues”. I know I should be grateful that they are taking school safety seriously, but really now… And to think I was polite enough to ask permission.  I was a little miffed by it but I turned around and walked towards one of the Church doors and the lady who turned me away had stepped out and was directing me towards another entrance — like I wouldn’t know. Or maybe she felt a tinge of guilt for having turned me away, but I was heading to another door because I wanted to pray to Mama Mary — and I told her, but that was awkward and totally unnecessary.

I walked into the Church towards the corner I had in mind, sat down, and I took  a deep breath and said a prayer.  I know, I was over-reacting.  That’s why I said a prayer.

The rest of my Sunday turned out fine — although I have to admit I only managed to tick off two of the five on my list of to-do’s for the weekend.  (#s 1 and 2)  I’ll get on with the other three tonight… if not tomorrow night.

I did have an eventful evening with my mother-in-law knocking on the bedroom door at 1am. (!)  Too long a story to write (and a tad bit aggravating), but the long and short of it is I just charge her forgetting she had eaten or what she had eaten to age.  She’s 82 and afflicted with dementia and alzheimer’s.  It’s just a little tough when I end up taking care of everything the days Alan is away. (If he were here, it would be him getting up at 1am.)  It was just a little creepy, too, hearing someone fiddling with the door instead of literally knocking.  Then it stopped.  Then it resumed… that’s what woke me up.

The morning saw the surrounding area thick with fog, so the walk to school was rather damp with a light mist falling.  After dropping off my little guy, I took an alternate route to the bus stop and took these pictures, and now I look out into the mid-Manhattan beyond the boss’s panoramic view and I see the sun has come out.  And now it’s dark and cloudy out again.  Talk about the ambivalence of nature.

This Foggy Monday Morning
It was rather eerie although there were no scary sounds accompanying the fog.

Monday… This Foggy Monday Morning

One thought on “And the sun came out…even if just for a peek

  1. Actually I like these shots of the woods. It was actually grey here yesterday and I stayed home instead of meeting my girlfriends for lunch and Les Mis. I tried to relax. I hope your week turns out nice with some few surprises.

    Like

Leave a Reply

